Posted by: Lance Vaughn | March 22, 2007

Rotunda and Medallion

It’s nice to see progress on the inside of the house. Yay!

Kristin and I walked through the house yesterday with her parents, who just arrived in town for a three-week stay. We were excited to see the guys putting down tile when we got there and started snapping photos. It wasn’t until I downloaded the pictures to my laptop the next day that I noticed something wrong. This isn’t the first time I’ve done this. The keystone was one example. There’s something about the way my eye works on a computer versus in real life. I don’t know if this is a good thing or a bad thing, but hey, I’m 38 years old… I should probably just accept it and move on.

So, here we are twenty-four hours later. I didn’t have to say a word. Once the guy who could actually speak English (read: Supervisor) looked at the paperwork, it was pretty clear what needed to be done. Fancy that.

We love this part of the house. A rotunda is one of those things you never knew you wanted until someone actually offers you one. Notice the ring of granite around the perimeter of the rotunda, as well as a slightly thinner border around the medallion. Granite reflects light a lot more aggressively than tile, so it should really add some dimension to the entryway. Lookin’ goood!

Leave a Reply

Categories

